Painting Your Toenails

 

Son and Daughter painting their nails on a summer Sunday afternoon
Son and Daughter painting their nails on a summer Sunday afternoon

A few Sundays ago, there was a thunderstorm in the late afternoon, which meant no outside play or television for an hour or so.  So, my industrious children brought out my daughter’s nail painting set, and set out to paint their finger and toenails.  In the picture above my son works on his toes, while my daughter works on her nails.  A Dash Incredible toy and a bowl of blueberries keep them company.

If this scene had unfolded even a few years ago, I might have been uncomfortable at best or mad at worst; my son painting his nails pink.  That was when I still carried around some of the baggage of high school and college, worried all the time what others thought; about me and my family.

I am not sure if it was that I finally grew up, or maybe had kids, or maybe attained enlightenment; but this scene above brings me nothing but a smile.  A giggle, yes, maybe, but that’s it.

If you haven’t attained that same enlightenment, don’t fret, later in the day my son had us apply some of his stick-on tattoos of snakes, with his name under them.

Leave a Reply

